Who will be a world footballer in 2020? The decision is made in the evening. Robert Lewandowski is clearly the favorite. But the competition is well known. The live ticker for the Zurich event.

Robert Lewandowski, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are on FIFA’s final list for World Player of the Year 2020. All experts estimate the Bayern striker’s best chances of the three chosen. Is this the first time he has won the award?

In addition, the best are selected in the following categories: world footballer, world coach and world goalkeeper.

Follow the choice of the world football player live here in the Chillreport ticker from 7 p.m.

Neuer is the best goalkeeper

The Bayern goalkeeper and three-time winner is awarded as a world goalkeeper! For Alisson Becker and Jan Oblak. This means that the first title goes to a Bayern player. With Lewandowski and trainer Hansi Flick there are more to draw. Neuer: “It is one of the best years of my career”.

World goalkeeper elected

Sarah Bouhaddi reigned among women. The French left the Chilean Christiane Endler and the American Alyssa Naeher behind.

Zuberbühler is the first laudator

Former Swiss national goalkeeper Pascal Zuberbühler announces the best goalkeeper.

Infantino speaks on video

FIFA boss Gianni Infantino is not there himself. In a video, he directs words to the audience and the players and coaches who are connected. It commemorates the late World Cup heroes Diego Maradona and Paolo Rossi.

It will start soon

Journalist Reshmin Chowdhury and ex-professional Ruud Gullit guide you through the virtual TV show.

This time the award is virtual

Due to the corona pandemic, the nominees will not travel to the usual gala in Zurich. The event is held virtually.

New to the keepers

Bayern goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, like Lewandowski, has very good cards for the award in his category. His rivals are Alisson Becker from Liverpool FC and Atletico Madrid goalkeeper Jan Oblak.

Two German trainers in the lottery

Jürgen Klopp and Hansi Flick are two German candidates on the list for the world coach. One of them won the championship in England again after 30 years with Liverpool, the other won the triple with Bayern. Third in the league is Marcelo Bielsa, who led Lees United back to the Premier League after 16 years.

Premiere for Lewandowski

The Bayern top scorer is among the top 3 candidates for the first time. The last time a Bundesliga player was in this circle was in 2014. At the time, World Champion Manuel Neuer was third behind Ronaldo and Messi.

So far a German winner

Lothar Matthäus is so far the only German professional to be elected world football player. The German international record player was also the first winner of the newly created award in 1991.

All-time winners Messi and Ronaldo

The two superstars are again competing in the final lottery for the title. In recent years they have shared the prize with the exception of 2018, when Luka Modric won. Since 2008, Messi has won six times and CR7 five times.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *