Who will be World Footballer of the Year 2020? The decision was made in the evening. Bayern star Robert Lewandowski prevailed. Manuel Neuer and Jürgen Klopp were also honored.

Robert Lewandowski, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are on Fifa ‘s final list for the election of World Player of the Year 2020. All experts count the Bayern striker as the best chance of the three chosen. Is this the first time he has won the award?

In addition, the best are chosen in the following categories: world football player, world coach and world goalkeeper.

Follow the choice of the world football player live here in the Chillreport ticker from 7 p.m.

And the winner is …

… Robert Lewandowski! The Bayern goalscorer has won the prize for the first time. De Pole: “I am very proud and very satisfied. Winning the prize in an era with Ronaldo and Messi means a lot to me.”

Lewandowski, Messi or Ronaldo?

Now it comes to the long-awaited decision about the World Footballer of the Year 2020.

The best player is Lucy Bronze

Now the fielders are honored. In the ladies category, the English Lucy Bronze won the ex-Wolfsburg Pernille Harder and the French Wendie Renard.

Reminder of Maradona and Rossi

A video recalls the Argentinian who died in late November. He was one of the greatest players in football history. His former teammates Ciro Ferrara and Sergio Goycochea are included.

The Italian world champion from 1982, Paolo Rossi, is also commemorated. The former striker, who also scored in the 82nd final against Germany, died in early December at the age of 64.

World selection appointed

Before the best player is announced, the teams with the eleven best professionals of the year for women and men have been selected. For the men and others with: Thiago, Kimmich, Davies and Lewandowski.

Most goals in history

Christine Sinclair is honored for having scored the most goals by a national team player in international matches. The Canadian scored 186 goals in 296 games!

Fan Award

The prize for a special fan goes to Brazilian Marivaldo Francisca da Silva, who runs 60 kilometers to every match of his club Sport Club do Recife.

Fair Play Prize

Mattia Agnese receives the Fair Play Prize. The 17-year-old Italian provided first aid on the field when an opponent collapsed.

Klopp makes the race

Liverpool’s master coach is world coach of the year. Jürgen Klopp won the first title in 30 years with the Reds. This means that Bayern can no longer get a triple from Neuer, Lewandowski and Flick. Klopp in his typical way: “I’m not the best coach, but I got the prize.”

Now to the gentlemen

In men’s football you can choose from Hansi Flick, Jürgen Klopp and Leeds coach Marcelo Bielsa.

Ladies First

In the women, the Dutch national coach Sarina Wiegman wins.

Wenger presents the best trainer

Legendary Arsenal FC coach, Arsene Wenger, is now on the podium and about to award the coach of the year.

Goal of the year

Next up is the FIFA Puskas award for the most beautiful goal of the year. The winner is Tottenham’s Heung-min Son for his solo against West Ham.

Neuer is the best goalkeeper

The Bayern goalkeeper and three-time winner is recognized as a world goalkeeper! For Alisson Becker and Jan Oblak. The first title goes to a Bayern player. With Lewandowski and trainer Hansi Flick there are more to draw. Neuer: “It is one of the best years of my career”.

World goalkeeper elected

Sarah Bouhaddi reigned among women. The French of Olympique Lyon left the Chilean Christiane Endler and the American Alyssa Naeher behind.

Zuberbühler is the first laudator

Former Swiss national goalkeeper Pascal Zuberbühler announces the best goalkeeper.

Infantino speaks on video

FIFA boss Gianni Infantino is not there himself. In a video, he directs words to the audience and the players and coaches who are connected. It commemorates the late World Cup heroes Diego Maradona and Paolo Rossi.

It will start soon

Journalist Reshmin Chowdhury and ex-professional Ruud Gullit guide you through the virtual TV show.

This time the award is virtual

Due to the corona pandemic, the nominees will not travel to the usual gala in Zurich. The event is held virtually.

New to the keepers

Bayern goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, like Lewandowski, has very good cards for the award in his category. His rivals are Alisson Becker from Liverpool FC and Atletico Madrid goalkeeper Jan Oblak.

Two German trainers in the lottery

Jürgen Klopp and Hansi Flick are two German candidates on the list for the world coach. One of them won the championship in England again after 30 years with Liverpool, the other won the triple with Bayern. Third in the league is Marcelo Bielsa, who led Lees United back to the Premier League after 16 years.

Premiere for Lewandowski

The Bayern top scorer is among the top 3 candidates for the first time. The last time a Bundesliga player was in this group was in 2014. At the time, world champion Manuel Neuer was third behind Ronaldo and Messi.

So far a German winner

Lothar Matthäus is so far the only German professional to be named world football player. The German international record player was also the first winner of the newly created award in 1991.

All-time winners Messi and Ronaldo

The two superstars are again taking part in the final lottery for the title. In recent years they have shared the prize with the exception of 2018 when Luka Modric won. Since 2008, Messi has won six times and CR7 five times.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *